2014 Copper Cylinder Awards announced

copper cylinder version

Each year, a five-member jury is charged with selecting the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. It was my great good pleasure to have been asked to serve as chair of this year’s jury, and I’m extremely proud of our consensus-derived finalists. In tandem with the juried award, the Society annually presents a Member’s Choice award called the Copper Cylinder. Congratulations to Guy Gavriel Kay and Cory Doctorow! Sunburst Award winners will be announced later this fall.

From the official release:


Toronto, Ontario (September 19th, 2014) The Sunburst Award Society is pleased to announce the winners of the third annual Copper Cylinder Awards. The Copper Cylinder Award is an annual member’s choice award selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books published during the previous year.

The Copper Cylinder Award derives its name from the first Canadian scientific romance, “A Strange Manuscript Found in a homelandCopper Cylinder,” by James De Mille (1833-1880). 

The winner of the 2014 Copper Cylinder Adult Award is River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Group Canada – ISBN – 9780670068401). 

The winner of the 2014 Copper Cylinder Young Adult Award is Homeland by Cory Doctorow (Tom Doherty Associates – ISBN – 9780765333698).

The Sunburst Award Society also confers annually the juried Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. Both awards celebrate the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.                                                                         

For additional information about the Copper Cylinder Awards, Sunburst Award Society membership and the voting process: http://coppercylinderaward.ca

For additional information about the Sunburst Awards, the nominees and jurors, eligibility and the selection process: http://sunburstaward.org.

2014 Sunburst Award

Sunburst Award
Sunburst Award

I’ve been lying low recently, reading like a fiend in my capacity as Chair of this year’s Sunburst Award Committee. Each year the Sunburst Award recognizes exemplary Canadian Literature of the Fantastic in both adult and young adult categories published during the previous calendar year.  — Honored! Elated! Busy reading! That’s me.

Read more about the Award and my fellow 2014 jurors Paul Glennon, Robert Knowlton, Nicole Luiken, and Derek Newman-Stille on the official Sunburst site.